Album Review: Ed Sheeran +

In the era where White Guys With Guitars (known as WGWG) are making waves (well, not really, just in this popular TV show called American Idol), here comes a British guy with not just a guitar, but with a distinct voice.  He goes by the name of Ed Sheeran.  He is absolutely on the rise to super-stardom as he already won two Brit Awards!  That’s pretty amazing.  Let’s check his tracks:

  1. A-TEAM  – Nice way to jump-start the whole promising album.  His voice is promising and pleasing to the ears.  The melody is catchy that gives listeners a preview of what’s in store come next tracks.   The vibe of the song seems like a fusion of Jason Mraz and John Mayer.
  2. DRUNK – One of his current singles.  I personally love this track.  It shows his quirky, witty writing skills
  3. U.N.I. – The guitar background sounded like a Bieber track! Haha!  The songs showcases a bit of his rapping skills ala Mraz.  I can hear this as a background song for a TV show or something.
  4. GRADE 8 – It started off with a nice drum beat to cue in more of Sheeran’s rapping skills.  Very nice track.
  5. WAKE ME UP – It sounded like he did this through one of his live shows, like an impromptu thing.  I cringed a little when he sang something about Shrek and BluRays.
  6. SMALL BUMP – Another personal favorite of mine.  I really love this song!  I like the cool vibe of the melody.
  7. THIS – Ok here it is: I just fell in love with this track the moment I heard it.  The song is so heartfelt and emotional.  Definitely the I-would-sing-in-front-of-the-woman-I will-marry kinda song.
  8. THE CITY – Another upbeat track. Just OK for me.  Sounded a bit cheesy and boring.
  9. LEGO HOUSE – Definitely one of Ed Sheeran’s best and biggest tracks in the album.  I absolutely love this song.  One of my favorite summer songs.  The best part of this song is the hook efore the chorus. #OnRepeatMode
  10. YOU NEED ME, I DON’T NEED YOU – This song sounded so much like a Jason Mraz track.  He sounded like a Jason Mraz copycat.  The pop-flavored track is catchy though.
  11. KISS ME – Another powerful ballad that engages the listeners to feel how beautiful Ed Sheeran sounds.  He hits the notes perfectly and beautifully, a bit rough around the edges, but I absolutely have no problems about it.  You can feel his intensity and real emotions coming out of this particular song.
  12. GIVE ME LOVE – The final track of the album.  You could actually hear this song in a Victoria’s Secret Commercial (FYI).  Ed Sheeran delivers yet another powerful song that ended up with a lovely backup vocals.  Wonderfully written. Soulful. Nice one to end a very promising debut album.

Side Note: The Deluxe Edition features additional tracks.

Final Thoughts: I really like this album.  Ed Sheeran is extremely talented and gifted with fantastic writing skills.

Songs to be put on your Playlist: Lego House, This, Small Bump, Drunk, Kiss Me

Grab this album if you like: Jason Mraz, James Morrison, John Mayer, James Blunt, Paolo Nutini.

4.5 out of 5 stars


Shout It Out!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s