Movie Review: Ice Age 4 Continental Drift

Image
Source: 20th Century Fox

I know this is a late post because my Movie Review usually comes out on a Monday and I wasn’t able to catch something over the weekend. *excuses* Anyway, yeah, I was able to watch Ice Age: Continental Drift yesterday so here goes my weekly review.

Scrat’s nutty pursuit of the cursed acorn, which he’s been after since the dawn of time, has world-changing consequences – a continental cataclysm that triggers the greatest adventure of all for Manny, Diego and Sid. In the wake of these upheavals, Sid reunites with his cantankerous Granny, and the herd encounters a ragtag menagerie of seafaring pirates determined to stop them from returning home. — (C) Official Site

I don’t know, maybe because I’m getting grouchily old or what, but I wasn’t able to enjoy this movie.  Not one bit.  I kept on reminding myself about the past Ice Age sequels and as a matter of fact, I really did enjoy parts 1,2, and 3.  The Laughing Gas scene in Ice Age 3: Dawn Of The Dinosaurs keeps coming to mind as of this writing. HAHA.

Image
The silent Scrat scenes were actually the only good ones. (Source: 20th Century Fox)

Well this is an Ice Age Movie.  For those who have seen the preceding sequels would know what to expect from Ice Age Continental Drift – 3 main characters Manny (Ray Romano), Diego (Dennis Leary, who played Gwen Stacy’s father in The Amazing Spider-Man that I’ve already reviewed, click HERE), and Sid (John Leguizamo) embarking on an epic journey, encountering enemies, conquering natural disasters, and keeping the herd together in the end, with a few lessons about family, friendship and heroism along the way.

Image
Wanda Sykes as the Granny? She was ANNOYING, and I’m not kidding. (Source: 20th Century Fox)

Sadly, the formula for the fourth and latest installment did not work for me.  There were some little funny moments but most of them were painfully not.  The movie actually starred a truckload of celebrities!  Let me see, there’s Jennifer Lopez, Queen Latifah, Nicki Minaj, Drake, Glee’s Heather Morris, Wanda Sykes, Sean William Scott, and even Jeremy Renner.  To my surprise, even my favourite Tyrion, Golden Globe winner Peter Dinklage was also there as the pirate leader ape named Captain Gut! However this Celebrity Rush did not complement the utterly hackneyed movie to be a remarkable one.  Probably 20th Century Fox and Blue Sky wanted an exuberant star power to cover up what was lacking in terms of having a good story and a good laugh.  If they dream of becoming a force to be reckoned with against Disney-Pixar and Dreamworks, I think that dream is a little far-fetched.

Image
The Rat Pack of Pirates. The singing part in the middle of the movie made me wanna puke myself. Not. Cute. At. All. (Source: 20th Century Fox)

Can we just Drift away from this movie please?  Again, the kids might love this.  But for me the best part of Ice Age 4: Continental Drift happens before it even begins, with a cute and funny 5 minute short featuring The Simpsons.

2 out of 5 stars

Shout It Out!

