Movie Review: THE POSSESSION

Image
(c) Lionsgate

Based on a true story, The Possession is the terrifying account of how one family must unite in order to survive the wrath of an unspeakable evil.  Clyde (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) and Stephanie Brenek (Kyra Sedgwick) see little cause for alarm when their youngest daughter Emily becomes oddly obsessed with an antique wooden box she purchased at a yard sale. But as Em’s behavior becomes increasingly erratic, the couple fears the presence of a malevolent force in their midst, only to discover that the box was built to contain a dibbuk, a dislocated spirit that inhabits and ultimately devours its human host. — (C) Lionsgate

Image
(c) Lionsgate

True Story?  For real?  I am absolutely cynical to see moths flying out of a girl’s mouth and say that this movie is based on a true story.  What more an actual hand coming out of it?

True story or not, I think I was bored and underwhelmed with the whole movie.  It’s a little creepy, but forgettable.  Jeffrey Dean Morgan gives a touching performance as the father, who’s struggling to restart his life as a single man.  Everything else was a little generic, added nothing new to the horror genre.

Image
(c) Lionsgate

Final word of advice, don’t name your daughter Emily.  That name is like an evil spirit magnet.  And I’m looking at you Emily Rose.

Image
(c) Lionsgate

2 out of 5 stars

6 thoughts on “Movie Review: THE POSSESSION”

  1. Love the ending of your review! And I think I’ve had enough with this kind of horror. Being possessed by an evil spirit isn’t as great as it was twenty years ago…

  2. I found The Possession scary at certain points, mostly in scenes where Emily was being affected by the demon. I saw it with a few DISH coworkers and judging by the amount of jumping I saw, I would say they were pretty scared as well. I would really like to see the movie again, but I wouldn’t mind waiting for it to come out on DVD first. I’ve added it to my Blockbuster @Home queue, so it’ll be sent to me as soon as it comes out. I know one thing it for sure; I won’t be shopping at any yard sales anytime soon.

Shout It Out!

