Movie Review: THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER

Image
(c) Summit

October 8 2012

Dear friend,

I am writing to you because she said you would listen and understand.  Please don’t figure out who she is because then you might figure out who I am and I don’t want you to do that.  I did not enclose a returning address for the same reason.  I just want to know if there’s someone out there who listens and that someone like you exists.  So, this is my review for a movie called The Perks Of Being A Wallflower.

Image
(c) Summit

How do I start this?  Do you know this movie?  Have you seen it?  Well it is based on a best-selling novel by Stephen Chbosky of the same name.  What’s more interesting is that Stephen Chbosky also wrote and directed the movie, just like when Diablo Cody wrote both the book and the movie adaptation for Juno.  She did not direct the movie though, so I think I wasn’t able to prove my point.  What I wanted to say is that I genuinely think that The Perks Of Being Wallflower deserves to be nominated for Best Picture in the Academy Awards, just like Juno. There you go.  However, the movie, though it is critically acclaimed, has not generated enough Oscar Buzz, but I’m still keeping my fingers crossed, I really do.

Image
(c) Summit

First I want to say that I LOVE THE BOOK.  Then again I always think that until I read another book.  But this book was different.   I have fallen in love with it from the moment I turned the first page.  And now I am obsessed with the movie as well.  It captures the dizzying highs and the crushing lows of growing up.

Image
(c) Summit

Logan Lerman plays the role of Charlie, a coping freshman, who tries to participate with the other teenagers to get through high school.  You might know Logan Lerman because he’s also the same person who played Percy Jackson, a movie that I did not like at all.  This time I think we should take Logan seriously because of his very believable portrayal of Charlie.

Image
(c) Summit

Joining Logan are Emma Watson and Ezra Miller as step-siblings Sam and Patrick who played a crucial part of Charlie’s troubled and depressing life.  Of course you know who Emma Watson is.  From being Hermione Granger in the Harry Potter Saga, Emma proves to everyone that she can stand on her own.  She is a very promising young actress.  Ezra Miller on the other hand, who is relatively unknown, almost stole the whole movie.  Again I am keeping my fingers crossed for an acting nomination for any of these 3 tremendous actors.

Image
(c) Summit

This movie is a moving tale of love, loss, fear and hope, and the unforgettable friends that help us get through life.  I feel like I am Charlie.  I can definitely relate to this movie.  Well, everyone can.  What makes it more relate-able is the way the movie transcends to the audience.  It’s real, engaging and retrospective.  In my honest opinion, The Perks Of Being A Wallflower is one of my favourite films of the year, and one of my favourite movie adaptations of one of my favourite books.  It’s not perfect, but sometimes imperfection works.  And the fact that this movie is about the obstacles of teenage life and does not feature some odd-looking monsters or vampires makes it more genuine and true-to-life.  When I went out of the cinema, I felt bad for Charlie, I really did.  I did feel the hurt because I am human.  I did feel his pain and suffering and it hurt because pain is universal.  I hope you feel the same way as you leave the cinema.  I’m not saying that I also want you to be hurt though.  I just want you to appreciate the movie and love the movie as much as I loved it.

Image
(c) Summit

I should probably go now.  I don’t know why I wrote a lot of this down for you to read.  The reason I wrote this letter is because I want to recommend this movie for you to watch.  If you have time, I also want you to read the book, but I am afraid that you won’t, but please do.

Love always,

Cocoloids

4.5 out of 5

Image
(c) Summit
3 thoughts on “Movie Review: THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER”

  1. What an interesting way of reviewing a movie! Anyway, your review made me want to watch this movie right about now. I’ve been looking for a down-to-earth movie, like JUNO or LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE or YOUNG ADULT, having been overwhelmed by this years blockbusters, and this one seems to be a perfect choice. About the oscar buzz, small movie like this one usually has its turn by the end of the year. Just you wait.

    1. Thanks a lot! yeah I am really hoping for an Oscar nomination. If you have read the book you probably know why I wrote this particular review differently. 🙂 good day! 🙂

Shout It Out!

