Movie Review: TAKEN 2

Image
(c) 20th Century Fox

I remembered when the first Taken was shown, I was not able to watch it on screen.  Later I downloaded it and watched it at home and absolutely enjoyed it.

4 years later, Liam Neeson returns as Bryan Mills, the retired CIA agent with a “particular set of skills” who stopped at nothing to save his daughter Kim from kidnappers. When the father of one of the villains Bryan killed swears revenge, and takes Bryan and his wife hostage in Istanbul, Bryan enlists Kim to help them escape. Bryan then employs his unique tactics to get his family to safety and systematically take out the kidnappers, one by one.

Image
(c) 20th Century Fox

The plot of having Mills’ daughter do the action this time around is pretty exciting, but I was completely disappointed.  Sophomore jinx or not, I think making a sequel can be hard, especially when the predecessor was so memorable with lines like, “I don’t know who you are.  I don’t know what you want.  If you’re looking for ransom, I can tell you I don’t have money.  But what I do have are a very particular set of skills…If you let my daughter go now, that will be the end of it.  I will not look for you, I will not pursue you.  But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.”  I must say Taken is a tough one to follow, and the sequel was just a little bit the same as the first, only dumber.

Image
(c) 20th Century Fox

I did not know that the thugs Bryan Mills encountered last time were actually from a well-able family of syndicates.  Taken 2 was uninspiring, it served the audience with nothing new to the table.  I think they were trying hard to be like James Bond or Jason Bourne.  Some action scenes were actually good, some were comical.  It’s the first film I’ve seen where the car chase features a passenger seat who shouts to the driver “Go!”, “Go back!”, “Go forward!”, “Left!”, “Right!”, “Stop!”, “Faster!”  It’s pretty funny.  Then he adds a cheesy line “You can do it!” and I just cringed.  Then I also remembered a particular scene when Bryan faced this thug and they ended up fighting on a stage of some sort, and my eyes rolled and I felt like Taken 2 has turned into TEKKEN!

Image
(c) 20th Century Fox

Let’s talk about the ending.  Or should we really talk about it?  I think the ending was so cheesy and absolutely unnecessary.  From a hardcore action movie, Taken 2 ended like a family TV drama.

Liam Neeson was as badass as the first, and Maggie Grace did good.  Famke Janssen on the other hand was absolutely useless.

I would recommend this for everyone, just do not compare this to the first one, and do not expect too much.  If you are looking for heart-pumping action, this movie is for you.  Unfortunately, the story was not as good as the action part.  If you are a fan of Taken, I think you will be disappointed with Taken 2.

Image
(c) 20th Century Fox

I’ll end my review with something that I have read somewhere, so all credits go to the one who made this very witty post!

I don’t know who Taken producer Luc Besson is or what he wants, but it so happens that I, and many other fans of the original Taken, come equipped with a particular set of skills—skills we’ve acquired over a lifetime of discerning between good and bad action movies, skills that make us a nightmare for people like him. If he stops churning out Taken sequels now, that will be the end of it. We will not look for him, we will not pursue him. But if he comes out with Taken 3, we will look for him, we will find him, and we will kill him. Or at least kill his movie at the box office.

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: TAKEN 2”

Shout It Out!

