Movie Review: LOOPER

Image
(c) Sony Pictures

I am not a big fan of movies dealing with time travelling because it’s hard to set aside logic and understand everything.  Yeah yeah I’m that dumb, but I guess I tend to get lost in the middle of the premise, leaving me with so many questions after watching.

Image
(c) Sony Pictures

In the futuristic action thriller Looper, above all the mind and time bending twists, we have to keep the notion that Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Bruce Willis are playing the same character, 30 years apart.  Set in the year 2044, the plot is about time travel—where it is illegal and only available on the black market.  When the mob wants to get rid of someone, they will transport their target back 30 years into the past, where a looper – a hired killer, like Joe (Gordon-Levitt) – is waiting to mop up.  Joe is getting rich and life is good…until the day the mob decides to “close the loop,” sending back Joe’s future self (Willis) for assassination.  When a looper is unsuccessful in mopping, in this case his own self, the mob will hunt that looper down.  Basically the movie is about Gordon-Levitt and Willis trying to stop each other.  Gordon-Levitt tries to kill his future self, while Willis has a different agenda of going back in time to eliminate a younger version of someone who is a big factor of future Joe’s suffering.  My head hurts right now.

Image
(c) Sony Pictures

Too complicated and confusing?  Some may think it is, but unlike other mind bending movies, I actually did get the plot.  The movie has a lot of subplots and twists and turns that could really make the audience go nuts.  Writer-Director Rian Johnson did a tremendous job in giving what the audience needs – terrific storytelling.  We deserve a good story, and Johnson did just fine.  Some more polishing tweaks in the story here and there and this movie is pretty good for me.

Image
(c) Sony Pictures

The visuals are impressive and unique; the violence in the movie is heart-thumping, Bruce Willis, Emily Blunt, and the rest of the cast are so exceptional except for some annoying minor characters, but Joseph Gordon-Levitt is on a league of his own. I think everything Gordon-Levitt touches turns to gold.  I am fan of all of his works and Looper is no exception.

4.0 out 5 stars

5 thoughts on “Movie Review: LOOPER”

  1. Great review. By no means is it a perfect flick, but it’s one that’s expertly-written and kept me glued to the screen from start to finish. I feel like I got it the first time around, but watching it again actually did some justice for me and I picked up on things I didn’t expect to in the first-place.

Shout It Out!

