Movie Review: INSIDIOUS: CHAPTER 2

First off, I want to say Happy Halloween everyone!  And as a Halloween treat, here’s one movie to spook you out, or not?

When I saw the first Insidious, I told myself that I will never watch this movie again.  But then again I love horror films so why do I have to hinder myself from watching something that I love?  So I dared myself and watched it again. And again. And again.  It’s fascinating to note that every time I watch this movie, it never fails to scare me!

Now here comes Insidious: Chapter 2, which picks up from the moments of the first one.  And I thought, I have not yet recovered from the horror that I experienced in the first Insidious, and here comes the second chapter?  I mean c’mon!

(c) FilmDistrict

 Insidious: Chapter 2 follows the lives of the haunted Lambert family as they seek to uncover the mysterious childhood secret that has left them connected to the spirit world.  This terrifying sequel to the acclaimed horror film reunites director James Wan and writer Leigh Whannell with the original cast, led by Patrick Wilson, Rose Byrne, Barbara Hershey, Lin Shaye, and Ty Simpkins, among others.

(c) FilmDistrict

From the events of Insidious, Josh (Wilson) has just made it from the Further back to the human world, or is it really him?  He is able to convince his wife Renai (Byrne) that he is not the one possessed by a demonic entity who throttled the psychic woman (Shaye) to death.  As the Lambert family relocates back to Josh’s mother, Lorraine’s (Hershey) house, Renai is clouded with suspicions about his husband’s true identity as scary occurrences freak her out, raising her hair to no end—kids’ toys start to move, the piano starts playing familiar eerie tunes, baby monitor begins to create creepy voices from the other side, and terrifying apparition that knocks Renai off the floor, literally.  During the course of these episodes, Josh seems to change – he is becoming more sinister looking with evil grins and glances here and there, with mysterious conversations in the bathroom, which caught Dalton’s attention—giving Renai the idea of what, or who, is the real source of the problem.

(c) FilmDistrict

I would still say that Insidious: Chapter 2 has some exceptionally scary parts, one in particular (the bedroom with Dalton) made me jump out of my seat with sheer terror, but the tension and huge scares fell a little flat and short, making its predecessor more chilling.  My biggest concern is the fact that I am not a fan of time-travelling because bending of the time, as well as the logic that goes with it are being thrown out of the window, leaving me so confused with a bucket-load of questions.  In this film’s case, the time-travelling aspect is being foreshadowed by what is called as Astral travelling, but nevertheless, it still looks like time-travelling to me, with the one travelling being invisible.

(c) FilmDistrict

Chapter 2 may not be a stand-alone movie because it’s highly unlikely that you would understand the second film if you have not seen the first one.  It’s pretty interesting that Director James Wan intended to mash the first two films into an interweaving universe, the way sequels should be.  That’s a pretty amazing feat from Wan, who is fast-becoming a legend in the horror genre.  On the other hand, with all of these astral travelling in different time spectrums that ultimately link the two movies together, trying to explain the mystery behind a moving object from the ghost’s perspective, I really do think that too much explanation in Insidious: Chapter 2 devalues the essence and the boding evil scares of Chapter One.  I know it is a crafty, clever move from Wan and Whannel, but in horror films, it is the unknown, the unfathomable that tingles the spine, and not the over-analyzed and the over-explained.

3.5 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Movie Review: INSIDIOUS: CHAPTER 2”

  1. Good review. While it is very silly, I guess you can have some fun with this if you know to expect more unintentional laughs than actual scares.

Shout It Out!

